Serving the Greater Pinehurst, Tomball, and Magnolia Areas832-521-5884
Tips and Advice From TDI
Know More About Insurance Policies and Claims
J & C Automotive & Collision has over 30 years of experience working not just as collision repair specialists but also with dealing with insurance companies in handling repair claims. Learn more about what to expect from your insurance policy with help from the Texas Department of Insurance.
Automobile Insurance Made Easy
Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers do this by buying auto liability insurance. Liability insurance pays to repair or replace the other driver's car and pays other people's medical expenses when you are at fault in an accident.
If you buy insurance to meet the state's financial responsibility law, you must buy at least the minimum amount. The current minimum liability limits are $30,000 for each injured person, upto
a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. This basic coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.
Because of car prices and the high cost of medical care, the minimum amounts might not be enough to pay all of the other driver's costs if you are at fault in an accident. Other drivers could sue you to collect the difference. Consider buying more than the minimum limits to protect yourself financially.
Liability insurance doesn't pay to repair or replace your car or to treat your injuries. Other types of coverages – such as personal injury protection, uninsured or underinsured motorist, medical payments, collision, and comprehensive – can help you pay for these expenses.